THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ShadowDriver

somebody shut me the fark up.
Name or Nickame
Marc
Happy Saturday, folks.

After an eventful night including high winds, a house alarm, and a visit from the local Po-Po, I'm ready to get back to smokin' some meat!

I'm completely new to this Weber 22in Kettle... so, fire/heat management is very different and a learning experience.

I had a good amount of KBB left over from last night's steam & potatoes when I opened the grill this morning. Added some more KBB, a couple of extra chunks of hickory and hit the small corner with the lawn torch. Pretty soon, she was heating up through 200F.

2016-09-10%2012.05.01_zps2t76hfu4.jpg

I went inside to work on the ABTs. Good Lord Almighty, the jalapeños 'round here are HUGE.

2016-09-10%2012.50.43_zpsrfmx6zf9.jpg

Can't have a first smoke on a cooker without at least one fatty!
Decided to use some Wicken Yanks Savoury (that made the journey from Japan), and some Adkins Western Barbecue Seasoning (that I randomly picked up at Albertsons).

2016-09-10%2012.56.07_zpsgzg4dncw.jpg

The temps here are amazing. It's in the mid 70s... and it started out in the lower 60s this morning. That said, I need to hydrate.

2016-09-10%2013.11.18_zpslekxvtkt.jpg

I'm running around 300-325F on the indirect side of the cooker right now... so I'm pretty happy. The ABTs should be getting a bit more heat to crisp up that bacon. Am running behind on getting this rack of ribs on to cook, though.

Decided that cooking a whole rack of spares is just one too many changing variables for one cook... trimmed down to St. Louis instead.

More soon.

Those jalapenos look about normal to me