THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

sash501

Knows what a fatty is.
As some of you will know from my last post, I'm new to this game. Toast and BDAABAT really came through for me on my first thread with great advice and starter tips. I went with Bruce's suggestion and started my first smoke with some fatties. Nice and easy and only a couple hours to smoke.

Only had about a few minutes of panic. The chimney got burnt a little as the fire spread while I was inside preparing. Their cheap though so no real harm done and I learned that I can just do the chimney on the side and then pour the coals.

I must say that the fattie is the way to go for a newb. It let me focus more on learning about how to maintain a proper cooking temp and work with my vents. I loaded up the charcoal and had about a 2 1/2 hour smoke at about 140 degrees. Meat was pulled off between 160 and 165.

The only other thing to add was I learned about sea grape wood. In south Florida we have this stuff everywhere. I went out and cut a few branches and threw it right on. It worked great. Only down side is it produces a real light smoke. As such, it would probably be better for fish. I know the Virgin Islands use it a lot for eel and the like.

Enough about me, on to the pron . . .

DSC_0660-1.jpg

DSC_0671-1.jpg

DSC_0689.jpg

DSC_0693.jpg

DSC_0695.jpg

DSC_0702.jpg

DSC_0712.jpg

DSC_0726.jpg

DSC_0729.jpg

DSC_0731.jpg

DSC_0734.jpg

They were awesome. Thanks again to those of you who helped.