THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

tomharr51

Knows what WELOCME spells.
I'm strongly considering investing in a pellet smoker. I've started a new job and travel a lot and I have young kids and am doing a lot on the weekends. I like the idea of getting something that will produce great bbq plus allow me to get my sleep and not need to tend to a fire. After researching I've narrowed it down to two smokers the Yoder YS640 w/ competition cart or the MAK 2 Star General. It appears that you get more form money with the Yoder and it's still made in the USA. How do you owners of the Yoder YS640 like it and how does your bbq turn out. Last thing to add I've never done competitions before but might considering doing some local comps. Thanks.

Tom

I LOVE! my YS640. I think the food is great. I would definitely buy another one without hesitation, and recommend highly. If you are wanting it for overnight cooks, I would honestly recommend looking hard at the MAK. I have never tried any food off one, and like the looks of the Yoder better. However, the Mak has a programmable controller, to lower to holding temp, once you reach certain temp. Not an option that matters to me, because I like to check on things, and make sure nothing is burning down, and really don't trust temps completely for doneness anyway. If you aren't worried about the programming ability. You can toss a brisket on the Yoder, fill the hopper with pellets, and have no problems, but if you sleep in, it might overcook.
Those were the 2 cookers that I narrowed my search down to as well. You can't go wrong. Just pick the one, that you like the most.