THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

S

SmokeInDaEye

So I've been asked to do a BBQ/grilling demo at a local Viking cooking school this June and need to figure out how to fill the 1.5 hours. Still waiting to hear if the Viking cooking rig will be there so I can cook outside, otherwise I'll make due indoors.

I was thinking of doing one of the KCBS competition categories to start with, showing how to prep a brisket or butt then have finished product on hand to sample.

Then maybe some things to do on the grill. Any thoughts? I've never done a class before.

Maybe a flat iron steak, tritip or hanger steak to show how to cook (and slice) some different cuts. Finished with compound butter.

Then a side like grilled potato salad with watercress, bacon and blue cheese. Or I've made a grilled panzanella (tomato and bread) salad that's pretty awesome.

Ended with grilled macerated pineapple with a mixed berry glaze? Sound OK?

Sounds good to me. I like the steak ideas, but I'm not so hot on doing brisket. I think it would be hard to get across the actual amount of time required to cook it. JMHO

Maybe you could do some semi-slow cooked (say about 45-60 minutes using a smoke box or bomb) chicken quarters and finish them by grilling.

When we (Billy & I) have done demo's, Pizza seemed another 'cool' item that people don't realize how easy it is to prepare out doors.

Sounds good to me. I like the steak ideas, but I'm not so hot on doing brisket. I think it would be hard to get across the actual amount of time required to cook it. JMHO

Maybe you could do some semi-slow cooked (say about 45-60 minutes using a smoke box or bomb) chicken quarters and finish them by grilling.