Stainless steel vs metal grate

Ruben Cortinas

Knows what a fatty is.
Name or Nickame
Nature Boy
Hello
I am new to the forum and just placed an order for a Lone Star 24/60 offset pipe smoker. It won't be ready till October so I have some time to add an extra feature. I was wondering what the advantages or disadvantages were of upgrading the main 2 grates to the stainless steel option. I am new to a stick burner and long slow cooks so any advise would be appreciated.
Thanks

My 1997 Lang uses regular expanded steel grates. They can rust a bit and need to be cleaned and seasoned but they are no where close to rusting out after a full 20 years so longevity shouldn't be an issue. Stainless will resist rust and be a bit lower maintenance.

Don't know what LSG charges for stainless upgrade but stainless prices are about 3 times the price of regular....

not that it's going to be a big difference nominally.....maybe $100 max and that's probably being generous.....

Hello
I am new to the forum and just placed an order for a Lone Star 24/60 offset pipe smoker. It won't be ready till October so I have some time to add an extra feature. I was wondering what the advantages or disadvantages were of upgrading the main 2 grates to the stainless steel option. I am new to a stick burner and long slow cooks so any advise would be appreciated.
Thanks

Congrats on your order Ruben! I'm hoping to place an LSG order and it's a matter of what and when as well as Wife approval. I've been eyeing the exact same rig. I'm hoping to go single door with counterweight and insulated firebox.

To finally answer your question, I'm a go full force kind of guy. In other words, if you've got the cash and you're debating what to do, I say go stainless and don't look back!!