THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• Doing some work on forum. You may experience an error when u try to post or save a setting. It's only temporary.

R2Egg2Q

is One Chatty Farker
While looking around at the local Costco for something to cook & enter in the Where's Your Green Throwdown, this caught my eye:
IMG_7475.jpg

At $4.79/lb, I figured this is likely a rare opportunity for me to try some wagyu. Some of these SRF flats had some incredible marbling but were pretty thin. This one had a nice uniform thickness. I remembered that corned beef points were on sale at Safeway so I decided to grab one of them as well:
IMG_7470.jpg

I have zero experience cooking corned beef in any way but read some very informative posts by Brothers Thirdeye & Landarc about them and knew I had to soak these in water for a while to remove some of the salt. Here they are after 48 hrs of soaking and with a rub (Thirdeye's recipe) applied:
IMG_7494.jpg

Since I had so much space left in the XL BGE, I decided I would toss in some spares that I could enter into the Spareribs "Masters" Throwdown. I got to work trimming them into St. Louis cut spares:
IMG_7485.jpg

Pulled out some fine rubs made by Brothers (left to right): Ryan Chester, Big Brother Smoke, and Plowboy:
IMG_7488.jpg

Seasoned the ribs:
IMG_7492.jpg

Loaded up Jabba with the meats, hickory chunks, and cooked away at about 240 degrees & glazed with a Blues Hog Original/Red & Big Butz Original sauce mix:
IMG_7505.jpg

IMG_7525.jpg

Gave the ribs the old bend test:
IMG_7527.jpg

Sliced up the spares:
IMG_7537.jpg

IMG_7538.jpg

And gave them the taste test:
IMG_7513.jpg