THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Chett. L

is one Smokin' Farker
Hi BBQ brethren folks and aficionados,

I've always been a huge fan of pork baby back ribs. I am limited with my cooking devices. I live in a condominium and can only cook with my gas oven and my gas barbecue. I have to admit I have no great knowledge or experience cooking wise and would like to gain some basic knowledge here and would like to learn.:grin:

Regarding preparing and cooking baby back ribs.

For oven cooking or gas barbecue cooking, is it best to marinate the ribs 24 or 48 hours before cooking. If I use a dry rub should I first based the ribs with oil and then season?

What is the overall consensus and opinion about seasoning and then mopping marinating. Meaning Carolina & Memphis style rubs should just stay as Carolina and Memphis rubs and barbecue marinated ribs should stay as barbecue marinated ribs, I guess there is no rules and it all boils down to flavor and taste, just wondering what the right wrong way is. Please forgive me I did not mention Texas style barbecue.

For oven cooking what is the general idea temperature and cook time? Should the ribs be cooked open grate or in an folded aluminum pouch With a loose ends and holes

In terms of combination cooking gas and grill. What type of recommendation or not would there be for cooking in the oven and then finishing ribs off on the gas grill?

I realize like everything in life there's nothing like hands-on experience and trial and error. I am open to all suggestions and I am willing to learn gratefully.:razz: