Spinning a Goat

gtr

somebody shut me the fark up.

Batch Image
Batch Image
So I just ordered a goat that I'll be cooking on a rotissirie for Bigmista's sendoff Bash. For those who don't know yet, Bigmista is moving up to Oregon so we wanna get one more Bash with Neil as a local - he's played a major part in our Bashes, charity cooks, etc. He's a favorite around here and we're all gonna miss him. Bash info here, btw. Anyone in the area (or out of the area!) feel free to come join us!

Anyway - I'll be spinning a 25-30# goat on a whole animal rotissirie. I'm thinking Chris Lily's BBQ goat recipe in the Big Bob Gibson book (my go-to book, or I guess now my goat-to book...) as what I might be be doing. I think I'll be making some toritllas and probably salsas so we can taco it up.

What I'm looking for here is any info on cooking goat any style. I've spun lamb and pigs, but I've never done goat before - so, who's got the tips on goat? Let's hear 'em!

I like goat on the done side as opposed to the rare side as in lamb.
What ever you do, I know it's going to be killer Greg! Looking forward to your cook pics!

Forgot to mention.. I like to use Allegro either as a marinade or injection. Also kicked up beef stock goes well with goat. Use your favorite dry rub. Heat some onions, peppers and garlic in a cast iron pot or skillet on the fire, heat tortillas, and make it self serve. Hot corn tortilla, meat, pepper/onion/garlic, pico, fresh cilantro and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. I like to keep it simple.

Last edited:
Never spun a goat. Have smoked a leg before. Seasoned and smoked low & slow for about 7 hours.

• Thanks
Reactions: gtr