Some smoker comparo thoughts

RacrX

Full Fledged Farker
Hi all-

First, I'm really excited to be part of this forum! I've been working on my smoking craft for a few years now (ever since a trip to Austin, where I fell in love with real BBQ) and have been part of other smoking & grilling communities since then...you guys really know your stuff.

I've been progressed through a range of smoker types, starting with a cheap vertical gas unit, then a Smokin' Tex electric, then a nicely modified OK Joe offset, and most recently a Jim Bowie pellet. For the most part they each have their upsides and downsides of course. Lately when I do a long brisket cook, I start off with the stick burner to get a good infusion of smoke for 2-3 hours, then move it to the pellet for the rest of the cook to free up my time. So far, this has worked pretty well.

My goal has been to get my cooks consistent so that I can eventually feed big groups, whether that's catering, a truck, or a more permanent place. I'll need to look at larger smokers to cook that much food, and I'm considering testing my skills on another type of smoker now. The next purchase might not be THE unit that allows be to cook large volumes, but I want to test out a similar smaller model without spending $5,000+ on a commercial-sized unit.

I think a coal-fed box is probably the way to go, and I'm looking at a couple of options that seem interesting. The first in a standard size 270 smoker. I like the convection draft design that doesn't require any electronics (from what I've read), the ability to hold temps and the long unattended cook times.