THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A

abonnell

I am new to competitions and was testing out some oakridge stuff this saturday. Specifically the brine and the secret weapon rub as described on the oakridge site. I pretty much used his method as described on his webpage. I am a crappy picture taker, so the pics could have been better. I took the pics more for my team since they were busy this weekend with other things. my exact recipe was this. (its really the same thing on the oakridge site so go there if you need more detail).

I'd also like to note, that we have been using the birds from SAMs, which after reading his post actually suck. haha, who would thunk that? This time i got a bird from randalls, with only 4% added solution. The bird was way bigger and healthier looking than any bird i've purchased from SAMs.

Heat 2 cups of water and 1 cup of brine to 140 degrees.
Stir it up till it is all dissolved.
once at 140 degrees
add 4 cups of cold water and 2.2 cups of ice
stir it up until it gets to 40 degrees or a few degrees lower
used a 2.5 gallon freezer bag, put in both chicken halves and brine
let it sit for 4.5 hours
pull it out and rinse it off thouroughly
pat it dry with paper towels
mix 1/2 cup of evoo with 1/2 cup of secret weapon
get a new 2.5 gallon freezer bag and massage the chicken with the mix
pull out chicken and put on a cookie sheet take remainder mix and apply liberally to the chicken
marinade for one hour
pull it out and sprinkle light layer of rub on chicken
put it on the smoker skin side up
cooked at about 350 for 1 hour and 5 minutes, until thigh hit 170
Lump Charcoal with 5 apple wood chunks
foil tent for 10 minutes, then cut it up and serve.