THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

cmwr

is Blowin Smoke!
I am starting my homework WAY early but I want to make sure I have all my ducks in a row. I have about a 14 lb choice brisket in the deep freeze. It's getting cooked on saturday the 26th for a birthday party. I was planning on doing hot n fast. I need a few questions answered.

I will be using the probe test but approximately how many hours should this take? 5-6 or 8-10

Is it best to inject or just rub down with no injection?

I am a complete rookie and plan on studying more about the parts of a brisket but I am unsure what is meant by fat cap and other parts ect.

Do I need to rest in a heated cooler for a few hours before serving or can you remove from smoker and serve immediately?

I am sure I will have many other questions as we get closer to the date so please be patient with me brethren. I don't want to screw this up. Some of these people are coming over for the first time so I want to make a good impression.

Hope these help

I am starting my homework WAY early but I want to make sure I have all my ducks in a row. I have about a 14 lb choice brisket in the deep freeze. It's getting cooked on saturday the 26th for a birthday party. I was planning on doing hot n fast. I need a few questions answered.

I will be using the probe test but approximately how many hours should this take? 5-6 or 8-10 - Depends on what temp you use, the individual cut of meat, and if you wrap. etc etc. At 300, wrapped, 5-7 hours would be a ballpark estimate. I've had them go longer though.