THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Drew71646

Got rid of the matchlight.
I am brand new to the world of competition bbq. Actually taking my first KCBS judges class this weekend. I'm fixing to dive into the competition scene this spring and are currently gathering equipment. I currently have a Traeger Texas grill and a offset smoker on a trailer for home use. Looking at buying a Myron Mixon 60 H2O and a Traeger XL to get started. My question to the group is:

For competition use, do you have an enclosed trailer(car hauler)that you roll your grills on and off or do you utilize a custom designed open trailer with all your grills, sinks, etc. mounted on it?

Enclosed or enclosed w porch. I wouldn't even consider a open trailer setup that you described. No way to get out of the rain or heat.

Very good points. I was extremely nervous about an open trailer with the electronics on the Traeger.

We use a toy hauler and pull our cookers out on the ramp. The ramp is supported by jacks.

You can use an open trailer, but you'll want an Ez-up or similar to cover things in case of rain, and at some comps, the rare sun :-D

Start slow, use what you have. I competed with a basic utility trailer and my Tahoe for about 4 years now. But I was only doing like 3 comps a year. See if you really like it before you dump $10k+ on new smokers and trailers. Walk around and look at everyone's setup and slowly start working up to it. You'll appreciate it more!

But if money is no object go buy a badass porch trailer and a new 3500 Denali lol