THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

armyguygrillin

Is lookin for wood to cook with.
Ok guys, I am in the market and ready to buy a new smoker. I seem to go through smokers like nobody's business. To give a little background, I have been smoking for maybe the last 4 years or so. I have had the following pits:
-Chargriller pro duo with firebox(thing was super thin, hard to control temps and keep stable, and rusted out pretty badly)

-Big steel keg(two of them because I missed the first one so much after selling it. Loved the flavor these things produced. Definitely one of my favorites but just not enough cooking capacity)

-Pellet grills(Fast Eddy PG100 and PG500, Dreamwerkz 1600SS, and a GMG Davy Crockett. These things are super convenient but just don't put out anywhere near enough smoke flavor for me. I can't even taste smoke with these and I've tried adding smoke generators,etc. Great for replacing a gas grill though)

-Vertical Cabinet smoker(Currently have an Assassin 28 which I love but it's a little big for what I need. It is being sold on Sunday to a good home who will get good use out of it for his catering. I might regret selling it down the road but I like trying different things.)

I am now wanting to try a stick burner. I have read until my eyes hurt on these things and which are the best ones. Everything I've read on these says they put out the best flavor Q hands down but also require the most work. That doesn't bother me if the reward is worth the sacrafice.