THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

farmer-fred

Full Fledged Farker

Batch Image
Batch Image
Name or Nickame
Tom
I mostly use KBB for my smoking along with hickory or apple chunks. I am wondering if I start my cook with KBB and instead of adding more briquettes when I need to extend the cook time in my smoker would adding lump help with the bad smoke from starting fresh coals? Just some thing I was wondering as I plan on doing a large pork shoulder on Sunday. I will start it around 11:00 pm using the minion method. I have a Q Master to control temp but I may need to add more charcoal to get it finished. I have always had good luck using KBB but since I bought some Stubbs lump on sale I thought I would try this. What are your thoughts. And please do not turn this into a Lump vs Briquettes argument.
Thanks

Lump definitely puts off less bad smoke when being fresh lit than kbb. Ideally, I would start the chimney of lump, and pour it on after they are glowing. If you just dump on top you will still get some not so great smoke, but much less with the lump.

I have started with lump and transitioned to briquettes. I started with lump for the higher initial temp to speed up the cook and shifted to briqs to extend the cooking time. Never had a problem with bad smoke. I'm guessing that because the briqs are preheated by the time the fire gets to them, they catch much easier.

I use the KBB but when I have to add more to the fire pit, I always light them in the chimney then add them to the pit when they are hot. Really cuts down on the white smoke they give off. Of course, I add wood as well.