THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ice_mf_mike

Full Fledged Farker
So this is my first time doing a Prime Rib. Just ordered one for Xmas eve. A few questions.

1. Should i dry brine it? If so, how long?
2. Smoke it or cook in oven? (i'm leaning toward smoking it but if its too cold i may just go the oven route).
3. I know many recipes for the oven have it cooking in a pan with liquid, do you do the same while on the smoker?
4. How should i cook this?

In case it matters this will be a 2 bone Prime grade Prime Rib. Butcher is going to cut off the bone and tie it back.

Thanks. Any feedback is appreciated.

Look up prime rib reverse sear. Tons of people are doing them like that including me.

10# boneless for Christmas dinner. Smoke at 225 to 117 IT 30 min rest and sear for 2-3 minutes a side until a crust forms

My (stolen from somewhere) technique is fat cap up a little olive oil, season with S&P, maybe some rosemary & other herbs at 500* plus for 45-60 minutes then rest for an hour or so in the cooker/oven as it cools. Works for the oven or Weber but I just make sure the deep center IT does not go above 120*. Just did a 7 pounder tonight, perfect med-rare.

Edit: just to clarify, on the Weber (or other grill) it is indirect, not over the fire!

My (stolen from somewhere) technique is fat cap up a little olive oil, season with S&P, maybe some rosemary & other herbs at 500* plus for 45-60 minutes then rest for an hour or so in the cooker/oven as it cools. Works for the oven or Weber but I just make sure the deep center IT does not go above 120*. Just did a 7 pounder tonight, perfect med-rare.

Edit: just to clarify, on the Weber (or other grill) it is indirect, not over the fire!