THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

CoachWalrich

Knows what WELOCME spells.
Been lurking and searching for a little while and was hoping for some advice and help on my Boston Butt smoke this Sunday.

Here is my plan, with some questions
I have a Masterbuilt vertical gas smoker
Smoking a 8-10lb Butt

Going to inject the Butt on Saturday with Butcher BBQ injection and let it sit in the fridge overnight
Rub it with Butcher BBQ rub after injection. Wrap and put into fridge

I have Hickory chunks, Cherry and Pecon chips
1st question - any suggestion on wood?
Should I soak the wood?
How much should I put in initially?

Do I spritz with Apple juice during the smoke? How often?

Going to wrap it at 165 - should I put anything in the wrap?

Take it off at 200 and wrap in the cooler

Anything I am missing? Like I said, trying to get better!

Thanks for the help in advance! Getting excited for Sunday!

don't open that door for 2 hours - set that bark. Open, spritz once an hour till you hit the stall (150-170), wrap w/ 3 tablespoons of apple juice or other liquid, cook till 190, open wrap and smoke open or in pan to reset bark on most of the butt, and cook till absolutely probe tender (198-205ish). Rest minimum of an hour and up to 4 in a cooler. Pull and enjoy.

dont worry about the temp. Bone should be able to be wiggled to determine if its done

is it enhanced? If so I would not inject

I dont wrap, I dont spritz. But thats my preference

Keep it simple! Injections, spritzing are silly and only complicate your cook. Rub, set your temp and only check it after it's about done, I'll check probe @ around 195 internal temp.