THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

prodano

Knows what a fatty is.
5 years ago I bought my first smoker and have been smoking on a regular basis ever since. Due to some ridiculous excuses and circumstances over the years, I realized I really only ever smoked chicken, ribs, and an occasional brisket, but never a pork shoulder. Humiliated by this observation, I decided that would all be changed today.

Since this is my first time smoking pork shoulder, I am hoping to gather some advice from the brethren.

1) What temperature do you smoke your shoulder at? 225? 250? 275?
2) Do you foil/wrap your shoulder? If so, at what temperature do you do this at?
3) What is your ideal end temperature? 190? 195?
4) I have 2 - 8 pound shoulders, butt portions, and they seem to be cooking faster than they should be. I threw them on my 18.5" Weber Smokey Mountain just over 4 hours ago, have maintained a temperature of 250 degrees, and the internal temperature is currently at 156 degrees. Does this seem like it is cooking faster than it should be?

Thank you very much for any advice that can be offered!

5 years ago I bought my first smoker and have been smoking on a regular basis ever since. Due to some ridiculous excuses and circumstances over the years, I realized I really only ever smoked chicken, ribs, and an occasional brisket, but never a pork shoulder. Humiliated by this observation, I decided that would all be changed today.

Since this is my first time smoking pork shoulder, I am hoping to gather some advice from the brethren.

2) Do you foil/wrap your shoulder? If so, at what temperature do you do this at?