THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RamHemiTX

Knows what a fatty is.
Let me start by saying I have been frying Turkey for 15 years. I usually do four or five a year. My family has always loved fried turkey, but my mother wanted something different for her birthday this year. I have smoked turkeys in the past, but they were always just OK compared to my fried turkey. I decided I was going to try a few new things this time and it really paid off. I am almost certain I will never fry another turkey again...

I started off with a 24 hour brine for my 14 pound bird. I used a Home Depot 5 gallon bucket with about a gallon of hot water. I added a cup of kosher salt, a cup of granulated sugar, and 1 cup of my homemade rub that I use on everything I smoke. I stirred everything in until it was dissolved. Then I dropped in the bird and added ice cold water until it was about an inch from covering the top of the bird. I packed the rest of the bucket with ice, and put the lid on, wrapped it in towels and forgot about it.

So cook time comes around. My target temp was 350°. I loaded the basket up with KBB, and a bunch of apple wood chunks. I lit about a half a chimney of briqs and dumped it on top. While it was preheating, I turned my attention to the bird.

I pulled the bird from the brine, drained, rinsed, and wiped it dry. I then stuffed it with a huge yellow onion (skinned and quartered), 3 cloves of elephant garlic (skinned and halved), and a Fuji apple (quartered, skin left on), and about 1/3 cup of my rub. Then I tied the legs and wings in tight and let it sit out while the UDS got heated up.