THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

mjpmap

is one Smokin' Farker
Name or Nickame
Mike
So, I’m going to start this thread knowing that it will provoke a bunch of different opinions. I’m an eclectic cook & I believe that anything on the face of the earth can be cooked over live coals, no matter the source. I just get really irritated when I hear somebody describe ribs as “fall off the bone”. My belief is that if you can pick up a rib bone and have the meat surrender to gravity, you just grabbed yourself some oatmeal with barbecue sauce. I’m particular about having the first bite of a rib leave a perfect half moon behind, but be tender enough to be quickly chewed so you can get the next bite. So that’s just me, what say you all!

I ordered some ribs from my go-to bbq joint 2 days ago. I've never had any complaints and I'm not discouraged but these ribs fell apart trying to pick them up. The flavor was awesome as usual but they were overcooked for my preference. I still ate them for sure but would like a bit more tug on the bones. I also understand that the particular place I dine at is kinda small yet very busy so I'm sure they wrap the ribs for quick cooking to keep up with demand. Nonetheless, I just prefer to be able to pick up a slab of ribs without them falling apart.

I like a touch of pull when on the bone, but I like it to fall off the bone if I'm going to make rib meat sandwiches.

Clean bite for me.

Fall-off-the-bone is considered "over cooked" in my book. I'll still eat them (and my guests prefer them).

As long as they're not chewy with too much tug everyone is happy. Cook on brother!