Paella Recipes?

Smoothsmoke

Babbling Farker
Reaction score
Is anyone willing to share a proven Paella recipe? Also is Jambalaya the same as Paella?

Thanks
Smooth

Nope, they are not exactly the same though Jambalaya is based on Paella according to some.

I am by no means an expert but I have put in a good bit of time learning about Paella. One thing that took me a long time to learn is less is more. Putting too many things in takes away from it. Paella is a rice dish, adding to many ingredients takes away from that.

Use the best ingredients you can. Bomba rice from Spain is the best but if all you can get is Aborio rice (risotto) that will work. You want a short grain rice that will absorb the liquid and flavors. American long grain rice will just not cut it. Use Spanish smoked paprika. Nothing else will work as a substitute.

Do not put a cover on the pan and do not stir or mix after you add in the rice. I have never cooked this over an open wood flame but that is the traditional way. Using a proper Paella pan is key but not essential if you have a large flat bottomed pan.

Here is a recipe that works for me, YMMV. I tend to wing things so measurements may be close but not perfect.

1 1/2 cups Bomba rice
2 tbs Smoked Spanish paprika
1 package saffron (I guess like 1/2 tsp)
1 lb squid cut into to rings (include tentacles)
1 Monk fish tail cut into 1" cubes
10-12 small clams or mussels
1 onion chopped fine
4-5 cloves of garlic in the skins
3-4 cups of fish stock or chicken stock
Salt to taste (rice soak up the salt so I go heavy)
Top quality extra virgin olive oil