Donnielehmkuhl

Found some matches.
Reaction score
It started on a cold Wyoming morning, I had spent half the night watching bbq videos on youtube the night before. As I awoke mouth watering I knew I was going to try my hand at smoking. I head down to the local store, get my self two beautiful racks of ribs, some nice smoking wood and a bag of charcoal. I get home and make a dry rub of garlic, onion, paprika, chili, chili flake brown sugar, salt, pepper, and celery salt and let these bad boys sit in the fridge for two hours. I then begin to make a bbq sauce i want something tangy and spicy so combine ketchup, white vinegar, salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, brown sugar, 5 yellow hot peppers and some Worcestershire sauce. I let reduce then throw in the blender to chop up the peppers. The beauty that came from that sauce was one to die for. Then pre heating my "smoker" begins. Now this is my first time smoking. I don't own an official smoker and i don't even own a charcoal grill! So I gutted the inside of my gas grill, because you wanna know what? I wanted to try some amazing smoked ribs. I throw those bad boys on and let them smoke for four hours with the occasional turn here and there for even cooking. Oh the beauty i have tried some amazing foods in my life and this by far was the best thing i have ever put into my mouth. I instantly fell in love, now every Sunday you can drive by my house and i will be out front smoking away on my engineered gas grill. But its not enough for me oh dear god no, I want to smoke bigger and better things but i am limited by my tiny "smoker." So i have decided to build a double barrel smoker so to smoke things like legs of lamb, a whole pig, or multiple briskets at a time. But i need advice lots of it what pointers and tips could you guys give to a first time smoker like myself, and first time smoker builder. Any help and advice would be oh so greatly appreciated!!!