WSM vs PBC vs UDS vs Bronco

mcyork28

Babbling Farker

Batch Image
Reaction score
Do you think any of these cookers puts out a better finished product than the others? They each have their advantages feature wise but when the cook is done, do you think one of these cooks better than the others?

I have no experience with a PBC but I have a WSM and had a UDS. To this day I think the best butts I ever did were on the UDS. Granted I've only used the WSM maybe 5 times and only once did I do butts so there is still some learning to do. I could run the UDS blindfolded. I think the grease dripping on the fire makes all the difference but I know some people don't like that. I could take the water pan out of the WSM and get that effect but I'm not over the honeymoon stage yet of trying to keep her clean and pretty. :-D

They are all generally do the same thing with some variations. I have a UDS for years. Produces great Q and sold temps.

Can't go wrong with the PBC. Super easy to use and produces great tasting food!

I will state that the WSM with a hanging rack system is an extremely versatile set up, and gives a lot more options than just dripping fat on the coals.

All same thing. When comparing smokers in same family it comes down to features,space, and chef ability. They all will cook almost same. Rest is up to you

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Can not cook in the rain with a WSM. The water runs down the side of the cooker and into the bottom causing ash to be released ruining your cook.

Can not cook in the rain with a WSM. The water runs down the side of the cooker and into the bottom causing ash to be released ruining your cook.

Not to mention the fact that rain will cool it down in a hurry. I use a cheap patio umbrella.

WSM is not meant to be a hot and fast cooker. I can maintain 350 or so by cracking the lid just a hair. But it zooms out of control if I crack it just a little too much.