Pellet cooker knowledge...help a stick burner out

El_coqui

Knows what a fatty is.
So my lovely wife, Mrs. El_Coqui, found me a hell of a deal on a Louisiana Grills pellet grill at Costco over the weekend. Im new to pellet grills and want to take it out to play on Sunday. I've been doing all of my cooks on a custom Gator Pit trailer and absolutely love the way it cooks. This pellet grill though is presenting me a challenge. Those of you that have cooked with them before...what differences should I expect between a stick burner and a pellet grill? I've heard maybe I may need to add a pan of water in there to add some moisture...but I live in Houston, Texas where its humid almost year round so maybe that's not such an issue.

Anything else that could help me out....planning on smoking a pork butt and maybe one of these Creekstone farms briskets that I found at my local Costco on the pit for Sunday.

I had a cheap $99 offset smoker for a couple months. Smoked 2 briskets (one not that good, one acceptable ) and ribs a couple times. I struggled with fire control but got better and better results as I got hooked on this hobby.

I've only had a pellet smoker for 2 weeks but have done two chickens, 1 sirloin, 1 brisket, 1 boston but, ribs and soon turkey and another brisket.

I took the brisket into my work and served up breakfast tacos. I got a lot of complements from some offset smoker and green egg cooks with a lot more experience then me. It was money.

For both the brisket and boston butt I keep a pan of water in the smoker and cook the whole way without wrapping. Part of this is to get as much smoke as possible and part of this is because the point is for me to be able to sleep through the entire night while it's cooking.

71348937_10157434097795890_355565619287949312_n.jpg

70377090_10157434512645890_1771978780479324160_n.jpg

70660624_10157434512760890_4024142493858660352_n.jpg