NY Strips for Dinner w/pics

JMSetzler

Babbling Farker
Name or Nickame
John
20110628_NYStrips_0275.JPG

I decided to fire up the kettle tonight and grill a couple NY strips for dinner. This time I got the cast iron grates good and hot to make some decent sear marks. I still think they could be a little better but I'm still learning...

20110628_NYStrips_0273.JPG

Before I tossed the strips on, I cooked up some corn and some large slices of a fat vidalia onion drizzled with evoo and some of Emeril's Essence on top. After they were just about done, I moved them over to the indirect side of the grill and just left them on while I cooked the steaks.

Today will be the last time I buy meat from Walmart though... I couldn't find any decent looking ribeyes so I settled for the strips instead. I cooked mine medium rare (about 4 mins on each side) and my GF's went to the standard shoe leather well done. Mine was still tough and had some nasty gristle all the way through the meat. I let these guys rest to almost room temp before I seasoned them and put them on the heat. I have had problems with wally world meat in the past more than once so I'm gonna have to give up on them.

I still love the cast iron grates on the kettle though. They are awesome and they are developing a great seasoning as I use them more. I don't leave them in the grill outside though. I brush them off after cooking and then let them cool, bring them inside, and oil them.

That is really nice Love Vadalia Onions I lie to wrap in foil and put on grill for a hout, turn every 10 minutes No oil needed. They get sweet and carmalized

Looks good. I need to get a set of those grates for my kettle. I am with you on the Walmart meat.. I wont buy from them anymore either.. Sam's has good meat, but Walmart is bad. I usually get my meat from Publix, or Kroger, but they think a lot of it. I wish I had a local butcher here.