THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matto6

Knows what a fatty is.
Name or Nickame
Matt
I'm new to smoking and have a couple Kamado Joe's but I'm tempted to try out an offset. I'm looking for something patio sized but good quality. I'm monitoring Facebook marketplace but I'm finding a while lot of nothing. A few Oaklahoma Joe's (where there are asking nearly full price - yeah, no) and a bunch of massive trailer smokers.

I'm starting to think I'll need to order new and pay full price if I want one sometime this decade. I'm looking at things like the Lang 36 Original Patio.... But gosh the price. It sure would be nice to find one locally for half that.

I'm in NY if anyone wants to sell me one. :)

I have an Old County bbq pits Brazos and it is a great pit for the money. They also have a pit called the wrangler which is also made of 1/4” thick steel. I have made some great bbq on my Brazos. They can be found at Academy Sports.

Oh man I find the same issue with BBQ sales on Craigs List & FB Market place. A lot of people calling stuff BBQ or smokers that don't belong there. There's a lot of crap you have to wade through to get to the good stuff. That's assuming there is some. Check out the classifieds here and on other BBQ forums. They tend to have less riff-raff.

I owned an OJ Highland and it was horrible about drafting. I have seen the Char-Griller Grand Champ at Home Depot and it looks really solid. They even installed felt along the cook chamber lid for those that don't want any smoke leaks. The smoke stack is wider than my OJ and it looks like it would help it draft much better. It's currently $499, but you may catch an end of season markdown soon.