It's My Turn to cook for a high - end client -

mchar69

Quintessential Chatty Farker
the catch? I'm a house painter by trade.
A woman called me up. She wanted to remove wallpaper.
I gave her a $550 estimate, it took less than a day, I billed
her $400.
Since then I've done $20 k work on her house, references galore, Angie's list, the whole thing. She trusts me implicitly. I have her house key.
We are friends. We have gone out to dinner for all birthdays, etc.
Now her higher - end sister is in town and it's grill time.
5 people. She's got an OTG18. I think I need more grill space.
I am thinking steaks; when we go out they always order Fillet - I am a Ribeye boy.

Maybe bacon wrapped scallops? I am making a few ABT's.
Veggies? Asparagus is coming on - How about a menu to
knock a rich California girl (age 70) and her sister to smiles?

Not sure how to smash a fillet out of the park....it's been Years.. and the last one was the whole tenderloin.

Filet sounds good or smoked prime rib. Find a butcher that ages meat. 45-60 day dry aged. Or rack of lamb over oak.Lobster tails. Bacon wrapped scallops are good. Grill romaine heads and dress with Caesar dressing pancetta and aged Parmesan.

As always, the best and easiest thing is to get great steaks to begin with, from there, make sure you know how each person likes their steak done. At that point, you are 90% home.

Then it is all about accessorizing said steak. Personally, I am not a filet person, even more so, not a bacon wrapped filet person. My great love is 'au poivre' with filet. The classic demi-glace and black (or green) peppercorn sauce is great. I always enjoy asparagus, or what I really enjoy is fresh steamed green beans, dressed with a nice vinagratte and shaved toasted almonds. A shrimp stuffed mushroom is also a winner on the plate. And with all of this, I prefer Pommes Anna, essentially, a stack of potatoes. However, salt-roasted new potatoes with a little sour cream and fresh herbs if delicious