Have we spoiled ourselves?

defib

Knows what a fatty is.
I am still very new to this BBQ game. I have grilled for years and ruined many a cut of meat. In the past 2 years I have really improved and continue to strive to do better. I get multiple compliments on my food and enjoy seeing it eaten.

Now for the questions? I have gone out with family to chain and independent restaurants. I seem to find a lot of them lacking to what I cook. Is it because I cook to my tastes or have I ruined myself to eating at these places? I tend to order things I don't cook. Last time it was the tri tip and it was very good. ( I have never cooked it)

I had a good friend that went out with family the other night, she told about this BBQ that she always loved to eat. No I get told that mine is better and I have ruined it for her. :biggrin1: she was smiling when she said it, then said " when are you cooking again"? This is not the first time this has happened from many different people.

I take it as a compliment but feel sad as well. I enjoy this hobby but understand what it's like sitting in a restaurant and eating food that you know doesn't taste as good as what you can do.

The other thing I have noticed that on the days that I cook, my senses become dulled to the smoke. So I don't really notice how smoky the food is until I have leftovers, the next day or so. Does this happen to anyone else?

I have found places that still make BBQ that puts mine to shame and make me strive to at least get as good as them. Plus I see what everyone here makes; talk about raising the bar!

What say the opinion of the Brethren?

A. I prefer my food at home over just about anywhere.

B. I also prefer being served and not doing cleanup/dishes.

Alas I can only choose one of those things for each meal so 90% of the time it's option A.

I agree on the smokiness really coming through on leftover days though.