THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

B

BBQFuture

Howdy y'all!

I have been BBQing for the past 6 years or so. My specialty is "rib roast". I also make a pretty good cedar planked salmon. I have gone through several grills, and have had the same problems with them over and over again and have set my engineer's mind to designing a better grill.

Heat Source: When researching current grill state of the art technology I often see "infrared" mentioned. Apparently, many have decided that radiant heat is the best cooking method for BBQ. This makes sense as it simulates cooking over an open flame rather than in an oven. So, my instinct is to use an infrared heat source. After looking into it, I have found infrared heating elements that are either gas or electric powered. I personally would prefer to use electric, as I am suspicious as to the contaminants released when burning either propane or natural gas. Charcoal/wood are unsuitable for me because one of my requirements is speed. The ability to turn the heat on and off instantly would be ideal. The problem it seems is that there is not a reliable way to achieve the power output of LP/gas using electric infrared elements. I've looked at the quartz elements that look like lightbulbs and the ceramic ones that look like a piece of tile with an oven burner running through it. Neither seem to be as powerful as gas.

Quick cleaning/durable: Most grills I have purchased are a pain to clean and last an average of about 2 years out on my deck.