The quest for a better pizza dough

Wampus

somebody shut me the fark up.
So I've been making my own pizza dough for a couple of years now.
I found a pretty common recipe that I use and I like the taste of it, but I'd prefer it to be a little different texture.

I know part of my issue is my cooking method. I cook pies most of the time in the oven at as high a temp as I can get (500dF). I cook them on these 'air bake' cookie sheets that don't burn, but also don't brown the bottom of the crust very well. When I have taken the time to cook them on a stone on my kettle at a higher temp, they crisp up nicer on the bottom. I can deal with the 'un-crispiness' of the pies, but I'd like my dough to be a little bit lighter or 'fluffier'.

I thought I'd put up a thread.......you know what? Actually my WIFE suggested I put up a thread about it here to get opinions from others with more experience. Plus, if there's anyone else out there with a similar quest to refine their homemade pizza dough a little more to their liking, what the heck?

Brothers jassybadger and landarc have both helped me out here and there with dough already. This is my process that I've developed starting from a recipe book and then tweaking my technique. If you know dough and recognize something that I can tweak, please do.

So here's my pizza dough recipe:

7 cups AP flour
1 1/2-2 TBS salt, mixed in with dry flour
2 1/2 cups luke warm water (I usually use tap water)
4 1/2 tsp yeast (or 2 of the envelopes, but I buy the bigger jar of yeast)
1 TBS Turbinado sugar
4 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil

I stir the sugar, yeast and oil into the water with a whisk until everything is dissolved and then I let it sit so the yeast can proof a bit. I keep my yeast in the freezer to keep it fresh/dormant.