Will this be enough for 14 folks?

M

Merlinspop

Hi, All!

My sister in law is throwing a baby shower for my wife this Sunday. She was going to make this atrocious boiled/slow cooker pulled pork stuff (okay, it's not terrible, but it's not *good* either). Anyway, I decided to step in and volunteer my UDS.

There'll be 15 adults (co-ed, not a traditional shower, more a party with tiny gifts). At least one is a tofu-eating moron (did I mention my brother in law will be there?). Anyway, I thought I would do two decent sized butts and a packer brisket. Other folks are bringing sides and I'll have the Weber fired up for dogs/burgers. I might, though, also try a pot of baked beans in my cast iron dutch oven if I can find a good recipe for those just for giggles. Think that'll be enough meat? I also have to make sure it all fits in a 55gal UDS.

I'm a newbie so I'll be following the basic brisket tutorial. Party starts at 2pm, so I'm putting everything in the UDS around 10PM the night before. Will get up around 4 and foil (my wife loves the smokey flavor, but thinks it's a bit too strong when left in the smoke for the whole time) with a spritz of apple juice. Will take the butts off in the morning when internals hit 195* and cooler them. Will take the brisket off when it says it's done. Somewhere around 10am, give or take. Shred and slice (as appropriate) around 1. Since the grill will be fired up anyway, I'll cube up the Point and toss it in a grill wok to crisp.

We have an old family recipe for a pretty decent BBQ sauce that I'll serve with both.

Sounds like a plan?

Thanks,

Bruce

I think that would be enough. I served three decent size butts and a brisket and fed 30 people with it this pass weekend. Also had three sides and two desserts. So I think you should be fine. Of course all the brisket got ate and probably had a few lbs of pulled pork left over. I always over shoot.

I think you'll have pleanty.