52 day "Commando" Dry Aged ribeyes.

Hoss

Quintessential Chatty Farker
Reaction score
I posted these pics under another title.Not much response.I'll try this way. Commando refers to just sittin on a rack,uncovered,in the spare fridge for 52 days.Was gonna go 60 days but Baby Boy came home for a visit before headin out to Ft.Benning for jump school.Had to feed him well.It was a whole ribeye sub-primal startin out.I cooked 1/2 of it as a prime rib a few weeks ago.
100_4196.jpg

100_4197.jpg

100_4200.jpg

100_4201.jpg

My fave is 35-45 day ribeye,21-28 days for T-bone,Porterhouse and Strips.Beef Tenderloin should be wet aged.This is just MY opinion.:-D

Dude, Love a dry-aged steak. You said you just put in your fridge? Any air or humidity control?

i am not experienced with dry aging steaks but is the black around the edges part of the aging process?

Dude, Love a dry-aged steak. You said you just put in your fridge? Any air or humidity control?

Nope.Just sit it on a rack over a drip pan and let it ride.I keep the fridge between 34-36 degrees f.

Was it worth the time it took

I would have to say yes.Considering 45+ Dryage steaks run about $30.00 / lb. around here.I paid $4.97 / lb. for this. I was going for 60 days but it got cut short.I think I really prefer the 35-45 day ribeyes.

i am not experienced with dry aging steaks but is the black around the edges part of the aging process?

Yes it is.It renders and turns soft when cooked.Adds MUCH to the dryage flavor.Very hearty and beefy flavored.If you have never tried Dry age,buy a steak and try it first before spending the $$$ and time on a primal.Some people prefer fresh or wet aged beef.It is different in taste and texture.:wink:

You should really trim the black meat off. It has decayed and shouldn't be eaten.

You should really trim the black meat off. It has decayed and shouldn't be eaten.