Workhorse 1975 wagon fabrication Q

Gizmoguy

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Name or Nickame
Dano
Thinking about getting in line for one of these but had some concerns about the wagon design. While the cook chamber is likely well secured to the firebox as a point of attachment, pictures suggest the remainder rest on 2 relatively thin flanges which in turn connect to a single pole at wheel level.

The 1975 regular version has more traditional 4 points of attachment and weight distribution.

I’ve done my reading and in general Workhorse Pits really appears beyond reproach. I’m no mechanical engineer, so was hoping those who own or have used both/either might let me know their experience and impression. I actually really like the wagon design, but as I’ll be functionally married to 1975 till death do us part, (and I already know this gal can cook), just making sure those good looks are more than good makeup.

The 1975 would be my choice as well. Just looking at the wagon and it does look sketchy in a sort. Seems like it could just rotate around that single pole at the bottom and flop to the ground. I am sure it would never happen just looks odd cause used to seeing the 4 pts

I found a picture on their website. It looks as though the fire box is also welded to the round large diameter main frame beam. If that is the case, the flat plates will be more than enough support the smoker. Maybe confirm that fact.

Far from sketchy. I'm in a private Workhorse group and about 100 of us have wagons and never any issues, quite the opposite. I can do 3 point Y turn in a single parking space and turn it 180 degrees no problem. I have a hilly yard with grass and pull it around with no issues. Never had stability issues. The delivery guy who obviously handles a ton of these pits said the wagons are the only one he would buy based on those reasons. Here's some pics and a bonus one too!

Last edited: