THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

str8upcop04

Knows what a fatty is.
I’ve been smoking for more than a few years and I never fully understood the thought process of adding more smoke wood to a cook that’s already well into the cooking process? If most meat takes on the majority of the smoke within the first few hours, what’s the point but mainly I’ve always read that your smoke should be clean before adding your meat to the smoker, i.e. thin wispy blue smoke…adding more wood after well into your cook would produce the thick white smoke that’s frowned upon in my opinion and defeat the purpose of a clean fire. Can anyone explain to me what I’m missing?

Thanks in advance farkers!

Personally, I use all wood when I’m smoking. I start with a base of hot charcoal briquettes and from then on it’s all wood.
If you have a smoker with a good draft, the smoke from added wood won’t negatively effect your cook.

Wood adds flavor throughout the cook. Don’t believe anyone that says otherwise. It’s true you get the most smoke absorption in the early hours, but it does add flavor the entire time

It's as simple as live fire vs. smoldering wood.

Live fire wins every time.

This is the key.

You want fire in the fire box, not smoldering wood.

83db5a488847e374bdc60fd24dc4665a.jpg