THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

MisterChrister

Quintessential Chatty Farker
I'm FINALLY getting around to building the all-stainless insulated cabinet smoker that I've been dreaming about for years! I used to run a custom millwork shop, so measuring, marking, jigs/fixtures, tools, and exacting tolerances are no sweat; but translating those skills from wood to metal (especially stainless) is another story! I have VERY little metalworking experience, but I'm determined to patiently learn as I go. I have a few questions for experienced metal fab guys (or gals!), especially those who've worked with stainless a lot.

1476571296_zpsquqsduxh.jpg

Basically, this was a liquid carbon dioxide storage tank that I got last year, specifically for this project. It's actually a tank within a tank, all food grade 304 stainless construction. The outer shell is approximately 26x50, and the inner (thicker) pressure vessel is roughly 24x47. I'll know exact dimensions when I get in there. The plan is to make a large door on top for access to the cooking chamber/grate area, and a smaller door below to access the fire basket. I'm planning to have a 3/8" thick diffuser plate/baffle full of drilled holes between the fire and cooking chambers.

First, I need to deconstruct what's here. I need to make a cut all the way around the circumference near the top, remove the inner vessel and the pipes that go in/out of it, as well as the cold-rated insulation from the air space between the tanks to replace it with rock wool. This brings me to my first question: