UDS temperature issues?

BeerdedTexan

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Name or Nickame
Sheldon
Howdy all, new to the forum and have a question about temperature management on the drum smoker. I've been using a weber with slow n sear to make bbq for a couple years and I've just recently had a drum built. I did a burn in and smoked ribs last weekend for the first time and had great results. Smoked about 8 hours and had half a basket of coals left. This weekend I did a brisket and ran into some problems, at about 8 hours my temps started dropping with plenty of charcoal left, I opened all the vents to try and recover it and it just kept dropping. I included a picture of the smoker and basket as it sits this afternoon, any ideas? The wind picked up in the late afternoon but it was just breezy, nothing too crazy.

Attachments

• 20201101_121925.jpg
    20201101_121925.jpg
    79 KB · Views: 107
  • 20201109_172652.jpg
    20201109_172652.jpg
    81 KB · Views: 106
  • 20201109_172643.jpg
    20201109_172643.jpg
    102.3 KB · Views: 107
Sometimes you have to shake the ash from your fire basket it plugs the holes and does not let air flow and your fire smothers

Do I need to do this mid cook or should I just clean the ash before each smoke?
Clean all ash before every cook. I sometimes just kick mine a few times a cook to knock the ash off the coals. That charcoal basket might be over complicating things and restricting air flow

I always clean ash each cook for sure. Then I lightly shake or bump mine with my foot when I walk by and think about it.
And that is not much "U" for a UDS.

This happened to me only once and I was using lump. The lump I was using had really large pieces and only thing I can figure is there was too much space between pieces and the fire never jumped to the next coal. Never had an issue using briquettes or smaller more regularly sized lump. Just throwing that out there.

FWIW I always clean out the ash and shake out the basket before each cook.