Two Quick Beginner Questions

L

loggy

Hey guys! I am just starting out on my UDS adventure... I've been searching around but I haven't found the exact answer to my questions. I am also slowly getting through the massive UDS thread but I wanted to see if you could help me out.

1. I managed to buy a reconditioned 55 gallon steel drum. It's unlined and the drum is a DOT 17h. Not sure if that makes sense but I wanted to make sure it would be safe to use for cooking. I am planning to sand, burn, and season the barrel, but I wanted to make sure that these were raw steel. This type of barrel isn't galvanized or anything dangerous like that, is it? Also, can the outside paint be an issue? I was told that it would be painted black but I don't know if it's a hi-temp paint. Should I just strip the outside and reapply a new paint? Can the outside heat up and make you sick?

2. I don't have the ability to weld and the machine shops around me have been quoting 100+ for a firebasket. I think I am just going to buy one. I know many of you bolted yours together, but I wanted to get something that would stay together and I am not super confident in my ability. Here are the ones I've found so far. Can you let me know if there are better ones out there and/or which of these would work best for a UDS:

http://www.smokerplans.net/index.ph...id=121&zenid=0be09d5d81163b4acb6a7cb66f63a82d

http://charcoalbasket.com/page/home.html

https://www.bigpoppasmokers.com/store/bbq-accessories/nest-assembly-for-drum-smokers

http://www.academy.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_10051_190814_-1?Ntt=basket&Ntk=All

http://www.waresdirect.com/products/Restaurant-Supply/Update-International/Aluminum-Steamer167455

Thanks for your help!

Wash it out with Simple Green build it and season it. No need to burn it out the original exterior paint is fine. My basket is wired to the grate with Hog rings and bolted together in a circle after 5 yrs of use It has never given me a problem.