So I have a salmon question, help me out here please.

fingerlickin'

Quintessential Chatty Farker
I was tasked with smoking up some BBQ to give to my wife's grandparents as a Christmas gift. They are getting older and cooking isn't something they really enjoy doing anymore. The plan is to package meal size portions into food saver bags that they can pull out of the freezer and reheat whenever they want an easy meal. So I started with pulled pork, ribs, and some turkey necks for grandpop, since they are his favorite. That was the easy part.

Salmon is next on the list. Now I don't eat fish so I'm not too experienced when it comes to cooking it. I just bought the last of what they had at BJ's which was 1-2lb salmon filet and 1-1.5lb steelhead filet. Since I got back from the store and started researching methods of cooking these things I found out two things.

#1 is that steelhead isn't even salmon it's rainbow trout that looks like salmon, but can be cooked in a similar fashion.

#2 is that when reviewing Gore's So-I-don't-forget(-again) salmon recipe, which was how I was originally planning on preparing it, I realized that this method is prepared to be eaten cold the next day.

I think what I was looking for was to be able to hot, or warm smoke some salmon that they could reheat and eat warm when the time came. Will I be able to do that with Gore's method or do I not need to cure the salmon at all? I was hoping that by curing it, it would help kind of hold it together better for a reheat since I know salmon has a tendency to flake and fall apart easily.

What do you think is my best option to achieve my goal?

My original plan was this:

I was going to start the cure around 9pm tonight and planned on cooking it on the egg tomorrow night at around the same time. If I indeed keep this plan and 24 hrs seem too long to cure it, then I can take it out of the cure in the morning around 8am before I leave for work and let it air dry all day if need be.