New to the Competition Scene...Need Chicken Help

Cat797

is one Smokin' Farker
Name or Nickame
Ed
Howdy folks.........

I've never done a comp before, but am going to do one in July with my buddy who has done quite a few. He didn't score very good at this one last year, so hopefully I can bring some good luck to him. I've never been impressed with my chicken, and I'm baffled at some of the stuff I've seen (Like in Myron Mixon's book). I'd like to try some of these methods, but need some help to put me on the right path. Here's what I think I understand:

1. Remove bones from thighs (at minimum cut off knuckles and remove oyster)
2. Loosen skin and scrape fat from underside
3. Trim to consistent size
4. Season under skin
5. Put skin side down in muffin tin with holes poked in bottom of muffin cups
6. Set muffin pan in aluminum pan
7. Pour either chicken stock or butter over chicken
8. Smoke/braise @325 ish for about 30 minutes, flip chicken in tins to skin side up
9. Smoke/braise for about another 30 minutes
10. Crisp skin on hot side of grill?
11. Glaze pieces and set sauce

Am I close? Any recommendations on a starting point for a homemade glaze? I guess what makes me somewhat nervous is I have no idea what the flavor profile is to shoot for..........

Thanks for your help in advance.
Ed

As far as the muffin pan goes, it seems like judges now want their chicken to look like chicken. The "extreme" trimming is not what they are looking for. Just nice "uniform" pieces.
Just my .02

I think it is hard to come in and get "how to cook comp chicken" in a thread. Your methods are one way and a good place to start if you have none. I will offer:

Doesn't need to be boneless. Most I have judged have not been. (KCBS)
Becarefull rubbing under skin. Sometimes it stays gritty. Try it first.
Trim yes, muffin shape....I wouldn't
Skin doesn't have to be crisp, and if you sauce after crisping, it likely will not be.