N00b questions about fires, charcoal, etc...

Churrasqueiro Bob

Full Fledged Farker
Sorry for the n00b questions. I have been using a gasser for many years and just gave charcoal a try again very recently. I bought a Weber Smokey Joe Silver to get my get my feet wet, or should I say smoke in my eyes. :-D From what I have been reading here, the SJS isn't the greatest when it comes to keeping a good fire burning, especially with the lid on. It seems to be an air flow problem. Anyway, I have several cooks under my belt as I have been using it almost daily. I am grilling, not smoking or long cooks.

I use a Weber chimney to get the charcoal started. I have used Royal Oak lump, Stubb's and Kingsford blue briquettes. For direct cooking, the RO lump burns the hottest, followed by Stubbs and Kinford. If I put the lid on, it does make the fire diminish somewhat, with the Kingford being the most affected.

I have done a few indirect cooks too, but not with the lump yet, just the K and Stubbs. I have used the split fire as suggested by Weber and also fire on one side, cook on the other. I have had problems with the split fire, especially when the lid is on. I had excellent results the other night using Stubbs on half the grill, even with the lid on. I had a nice for for an hour or more. I repeated the procedure with the Kingsford and had much poorer results. In fact, I had to add some lit Stubbs to the grill to finish my cooking. The K wouldn't tolerate the lid on for more than a few minutes at a time. There was no such problem with the Stubbs. The Stubbs burns hotter and longer, with less ash.