My UDS Contribution

-HAZARD-

Knows what a fatty is.
Hey Gang,

I wanted to share my UDS that I built. I have had a couple of cooks on it since, and all went well considering I am very new to the BBQ world. I researched the forum for weeks on end to find out what I wanted and what features I thought should be incorporated. This was an all Weld project, and there are no mechanical fasteners on it say for the pipe clamp on the back side of the upright intake tube. It has (4) 3/4" nipples with caps, and one of those is the upright ball valve which I mostly did because I liked the look of it. Makes it look like a sophisticated smoking unit to the untrained eye.

IMG_3647.jpg

Pretty straight forward in design. I have two cooking racks as I need to be able to cook 40-50 lbs. at least once a year for my annual party. The rest of the time, I will like the versatility in choosing top or bottom rack depending on what I will cook. Because I didn’t want to spend $100 to buy a new kettle grill just for the lid before this year’s party, I designed the upper rack to be 7” down from the top, and the lower rack 7” below that to accommodate my large pieces of meat.. I was concerned about the bottom being too close to the fire basket, but during a test cook I discovered a perforated pizza pan diffuser easily solved the problem. As a result, I have no issue when cooking pork butts on both racks so I don’t even think I will look for a kettle lid as I don’t see any benefit for me. Plus I much rather prefer the look of the flat lid.