Howdy from Gilbert AZ!

sawhorseray

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Name or Nickame
Ray
Howdy folks, I'm Sawhorseray. I've been making my own sausage for about 20 years and smoking it, maple-honey and Canadian bacon, and wild hog hams for about the last fifteen years on a PS Seasons P100 electric smoker, had a Weber 22 since 1977. Three weeks ago my wife and I moved from Elk Grove, CA to Gilbert, she's got a lot of family here. My reward for leaving the State of Confusion arrived at my house four days ago, a Meadow Creek SQ36 offset BBQ smoker. While I've always done all the cooking in our house it's become to clear to me that I'd best be prepared for a whole new set of culinary challenges. Aside from cooking my other interests are hog hunting, fishing, and playing around with my 18 month-old English Springer Spaniel, Bob. I was a union carpenter for 34 years and have now been retired for almost 13 years, I'll be 68 in October. I guess it's time for me to start perusing the forum, maybe watch a little more YouTube about controlling the heat on a offset. Glad to be here! RAY

Welcome to the forum from sunny SE Arizona. Ray where do you hog hunt?

Welcome to the forum from sunny SE Arizona. Ray where do you hog hunt?

My partner and I used to lease a 2200 acre ranch in the hill outside of Coalinga. I whacked about sixty hogs there over the 15 years we hunted the place, got a lot of nice bucks and wild turkey there also. I got rid of my jeep and CA is too far to go for a pig anyway, so in the wintertime I'm going to give this place a shot.

http://blueroosterhuntingranch.com/hunts/

I'll take out the backstrap and smoke the hams, everything else will go to grind for sausage. I'd post some pics but I haven't had much use for Photobucket for quite some time now, they became kind of tough to use for me. RAY