THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RedKamado

Knows what a fatty is.
Name or Nickame
Ale Barleyman
Every so often I enjoy to make my own bacon. I've taken a Costco slab of belly and cured it for 12 days. Today is smoke day.

This is my first attempt at a cold smoke. I want to keep the smoke under 80f. Being cured, the belly should be food safe at these temps.

First stab at this method. In the Shirley Fabrication custom I simply made a charcoal snake, added pecan and cherry chips on top, and fired up one end. So far I am pleasantly surprised as it is working seemingly well.

Another first. I took advantage of a sale and purchased a Thermoworks tool that pushes temp data to the cloud. Its been fun watching my temps on a bar graph. Smoke chamber temps seem to be flirting around 55f.

If anyone cares to check in live here is the link:
https://cloud.thermoworks.com/shared/QqLB9PvQkBrkrvwVeabT

Cheers!

Last edited:
Did you use a curing brine, or the dry cure method?

Are you planning on a cold smoke session on more than one day? In other words 2X or 3X cold smoked?

What are your plans for blooming and mellowing following smoking?

Thanks for the questions. I'm using the book Home Production of Quality Meats and Sausages as my dry brine recipe and overall resource. Added a few flavoring seasonings of my own to the cure.
This is my first cold smoke experience. The book recommends cold smoking may be done between 1, and up to 16 days, with breaks between. The intent is to reduce moisture percentage in the meat which will allow consumption without cooking.

Im a little too inexperienced to go that far. I will probably smoke for only 2 or 3 days then cook each serving prior to eating.