Help please. Dry pork butt on my UDS.

Petee_c

Knows what a fatty is.
I just tried to do a 6.7lb boneless pork butt on the UDS on Saturday. I injected and rubbed on Friday night and put it on the fridge.

I slept through my 5am alarm and woke up at 6am. Got the chimney going and did a light re-rub of the pork butt while waiting for the UDS to come up to temperature. I used about 1/2 a chimney of briquettes ashed over to start the fire. The charcoal basket is the standard size (propane tank diameter).

My plan was to aim for about 275F for the majority of the smoke.

I am a newbie and used Royal Oak Briquettes (Orange bag in Canada) instead of the KBB briquettes that I had used my previous 3 times while cooking with the UDS. I used 4-5 fist size chunks of hickory mixed into the basket.

In the morning, I was able to maintain temps between 250 and 300F with 1.5 intake vents open. Exhaust is the stock exhaust on a weber kettle lid. Those were wide open and stayed that way throughout the cook.

The temperature of the butt climbed fairly quickly to the 150F range, and slowed down a touch from 150F to 170F. Then I hit a stall. My only previous butt was the week before and the stall looked to start at 160F.

My fire wasn't doing so well. I kicked the UDS lightly with my boot for a few taps on each size to try to get some ash to fall out of the basket, but I think with the Royal Oak Briqs I was using, the ash was choking out the basket?

Around 2pm, the temps look to have fallen to the 200F range, and my butt's internal temperature was 180F and fell to 177F. I was away from home from 1-2pm, but was trying to keep an eye on the temps with a webcam pointed at the gauge on the UDS. (6" long deep fryer thermometer installed 1" below the main grate.)

I got home and opened up the intakes from 1.5 open to all 3 being wide open. The temp on the UDS climbed to about 250F after about 30 minutes.