First Run With My New WSM 22.5"

jdog1817

Hello BBQ fanatics,

I joined this group back in 2008 but I fell off the map for quite some time before I could really get up and running. Needless to say, I'm back...and with a vengeance! I'm still a complete rookie when it comes to smoking but I'm an avid cook and high-quality-food-a-holic. I'd like to start posting about my smoking expeditions to share and get feedback and suggestions. Hoping to learn a lot and refine my currently limited smoking skills.

Just picked up my shiny new Weber Smokey Mountain 22.5" beast of a smoker last week and I took it for its first cruise around the block last weekend (if it had wheels, I literally could have...this thing is freaking huge). I live in the city, so I probably should've opted for the 18" but I'm all about the 'go big or go home' philosophy.

I spent my entire Friday evening (as in...until roughly 3am) pouring over the forum; searching for ideas, tips, suggestions, etc. for my WSM and the meat I planned to cook. I had some difficulty finding very clear, specific guidance but I realize that's because there are so many different methods / schools of thought that it's really too hard to nail down specifics. Not to mention, umpteen-jillion threads and posts. :shock:

As a rule, I typically prefer to learn a "tried and true" method of cooking something and then tweak it, experiment, and make it my own once I figure out how it all works. I didn't find too many specific examples of that either, so I went with a smoking cookbook I got several years ago (name escapes me at the moment but I'll add it to the thread later) along with a few pointers I found on some posts here.

Anyway, enough of the context... Here's what I cooked and here's how I did it: