Deer on the Grill and making the Q

CelticRaven

Knows what a fatty is.
First I'll say hello to all the Brethren. I've been lurking around unregistered in this part of the forum since I broke out the smoker after a long break. well since it is that time of year and I saw several posts recently about deer meat in general I thought I would register and see if I could add some insight on some of the wonderful things you can (and perhaps shouldn't do.)

So saw a few posts regarding front shoulder, ham (or rear quarter), neck roasts, tenderloin etc.... I've been cooking deer for many years and tried almost anyway you can imagine. I've smoked it, ground it, had it made into Summer sausage, made crock BBQ, done whole tenderloins, chopped em into medallions, and turned the whole deer into stakes. I am an avid deer hunter and in my family it is more religion then sport.

Now I mentioned it is that time of year right now.... Well most places deer are in season through the end of the year, and those who have friends and family like I do may commonly end up with various cuts of that oh so lean and wonderful looking deer meat!!!

A statement about deer meat in general.... (and lots of other wild game)
'Fresh' like from that morning or the day before means totally unaged meat. This meat will still be quite bloody. If you get fresh meat and it hasn't been aged at all my favorite process is simply a clean cooler, water and lots of ice. Keep the water below 38 degrees with the ice for about 3 days and change it at least once. You can age up to a week in this manner, without worry. this will help draw out a lot of the blood in the meat. I don't add anything to the water, (salt, vinegar, wostiersheier, sugars, or anything else). First I think they all toughen the meat in this stage, and it can limit what I want to do later.