Ball valve for drain on new offset - what do I do with this thing?

Connor_Macleod

Full Fledged Farker
Name or Nickame
Connor
This may sound like a somewhat dumb line of questioning, but here goes nonetheless...

So my new 24x60 offset from Big Phil's has a drain line on the cook chamber equipped with a 1" ball valve. During the cook, I have been hanging a medium-size galvanized steel bucket from the drain valve and periodically opening the drain to remove grease & drippings from the bottom of the cook chamber.

My old COS did not have a valve on the drain, so I'm new to operating the drain valve on my smoker and want to be sure I'm getting the most benefit out of my equipment. So for all of you drain valve experts, I have a few questions:

1) Do you prefer to keep your drain valve open or closed during the cook, and why?

2) What are the factors that might motivate you to open or close the valve during the cooking process?

3) Does a drain valve provide any special capabilities that a drainless valve does not, e.g., if I were to close the drain valve and run 20-ish gallons of cool tap water into the cook chamber, does that provide a massive heat sink that allows me to do cold smoking in my offset?

I keep my drain open for the entire cook. I would not close it for any reason during the cook. I would not ever intentionally put water inside my cook chamber.

I keep mine closed. I only open it after I'm done cleaning the bottom with hot water and am holding a big bucket under it to catch the dirty water.

I guess the benefit to a ball valve instead of an unscrew type valve or plain unscrew cap is you don't get splashed while opening it.

My offset doesn't get that dirty in the bottom anyway because I'm always putting a disposable foil pan on the bottom under the meat that renders a bunch of fat.

This means fewer cleanings needed and a smoker that doesn't smell like grease.

On the offset, I keep mine open with a grease bucket under it.