THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Leatherheadiowa

Full Fledged Farker
I wanted to formally announce my intentions in seeking a seat on the KCBS B.O.D.
I have "lurked" here at BBQ Brethern for a while now and though I am new to the forum and having much to say here I would hope to be given a chance to earn a vote from all of you and the entire KCBS membership.

My name is BJ Hoffman, and I live in Windsor Heights, Iowa. I am married and have an 8 year old son that loves to BBQ as much, if not more than I do.
I am a CBJ and I cook with a team from here in Iowa called, Butler Center BBQ.

Over the past several months I have had a chance to experience a great deal in life. One of those moments occurred days after cooking at KCBS contest at the Cass County Fairgrounds in Weeping Water, Nebraska. On August 25th at age 34 I suffered a massive heart attack that should have killed me right then and there. While in the ICU in a Des Moines, Iowa hospital I had some time to think about the thing I like in life, the things I love in life, and the things I do in life because I feel obligated, and those things that I have just always done.
Of all the things in life that I love including my family, friends, and my church, I realized that barbeque and the barbeque family I have known for the last 12 years ranks right up there and the fact that the family and friends that I love and adore enjoy the barbeque life opened my eyes to becoming a leader on the KCBS board.