A little advice on smokers please...

3Cases

Knows what a fatty is.
Hello all! I've been lurking around this site for years soaking up all sorts of knowledge. I have recently decided it was time to take my BBQ to the next level, so I figured I better become an actual member.

I've been smoking on my Weber performer for about 10 years just using the basic indirect method. I've been able to achieve some pretty decent Q but I'm now looking for more room and the ability to produce more consistent results. A little over a year ago I set my goal of being able to produce a high quality brisket on a consistent basis, and haven't been able to reproduce the same results twice.

So, it's time for a new toy!! Initially I was simply going to go to a WSM 22. I figured it would give me enough room to do what I want, but it wasn't an entirely new thought process on smoking, so I would be able to get the hang of it rather quickly. Then I started thinking about all the times I've traveled to Texas and had amazing brisket. I have never had what I would consider competition grade brisket off of anything other than a traditional offset smoker. Not saying it can't be done of course! But I decided that if I was going to spend The money on a new set up I should just go for what I truly want. I don't have a ton of cash, so I've identified a couple models around $1000 that I can purchase near me so that I don't have to pay an additional few hundred dollars in shipping.

I would greatly appreciate some feedback on these two models from anyone who has used them, or use products by these manufacturers.

First is a KAT RF 32x17. From what I have read this company produces a high-quality product. They are only a couple hours from where I am currently stationed, so I would be able to drive down and pick it up as well.
http://www.katbbqsmokers.com/reverse_flow_smoker/