250 gal reverse flow smoker temp management

FlightRN

Is lookin for wood to cook with.
Hey guys, Looking for some wisdom/help. I built a 250 gal RF smoker about a year ago and love cooking on it. I recently invested in a 6 probe digital thermometer system and have placed probes at all four grates. I am noticing 10-20 degree difference front to back, working with level, I can get it down to 5 degrees. The top grates are usually 30 degrees and some times up to 60 degrees hotter than bottom. Any tricks to narrow that gap? I frequently do 30-40 racks of ribs for our church and have mostly tried to average the temps. Now that I have some more experience and want to get better, I'm looking for your collective wisdom....or is it just fine and I need to quit being so picky....lol
61e3f788ce5e203fa4e66733657eeeac.jpg

Last edited:
Great looking cooker! :clap2:

Before you started simultaneously measuring multiple rack temps, did it perform well? If so, I'd be inclined to leave it alone... It's a stick burner after all :wink:

Great looking cooker! :clap2:

Before you started simultaneously measuring multiple rack temps, did it perform well? If so, I'd be inclined to leave it alone... It's a stick burner after all :wink:

It definitely has performed well. I just am trying to dial in and maybe get ready for competition. I have several guys wanting to join me in local and I'm not confident I'm ready.....

It definitely has performed well. I just am trying to dial in and maybe get ready for competition. I have several guys wanting to join me in local and I'm not confident I'm ready.....

Great news that it's cooking well, congrats on the build!
Now you want to tune to raise your confidence level for competition. Got it.
I'm not the guy to directly help tune airflow, I haven't built or even run a reverse flow.

I'm subscribing to the thread :pop2: