THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

BriGreentea

Knows what a fatty is.
Hello,
I've been using a vertical offset for a few years I got from Academy and I got sick of it due to was difficult to maintain temps and overbearing smoke taste and tried every method possible.
I missed my former UDS many years ago so familiar using the minion method. I got rid of it because I wanted more smoke! Now I want what I had but I decided to get a Weber Smokey Mountain as I don't have a vehicle to pick up a drum nor really interested in the work to make one again.

I bought some chicken wings and a 5 pound point brisket. For the wings to break in and season it as I've heard WSM's get really got at first I am not going to get the water pan dirty as I'm going to simmer the wings in a pan bbq sauce and butter on the top rack and finish them off taking the water pan out and putting it on the bottom rack to get them crisp.

On Saturday for the brisket many have said to not put water in the pan just use foil? Is this I am assuming using water I may need to put more fuel as it's burning faster due to the moisture from the water?

No water in the pan. Just foil and go. Enjoy the WSM, control the temps with the intakes at the bottom and make lots of good BBQ

Thirded.

Empty water pan wrapped in heavy duty aluminum foil, rip it off and toss in the trash when done. Get ready for the next smoke.

I will go against the grain and say use water the first few cooks until you are comfortable getting your temp zoned in. It does allow you a bit more room against overshoot.